Save a document as a new version

 

Tasklist enables you to save a document as new version of the same document, or a new version of another document.

 

To save a document as a new version, click on File, and in the backstage view click on Save to Tasklist, and then Save as new version.  You can save the document as new version of itself, or a new version of another document.

 

To save the document as a new version of itself:

 

Click on "Save as a new version."  In the drop-down menu, click on "Save as a new version of this document."

This will give you a dialog box in which you can change the properties of the document for the new version:

You can keep the same properties, or you can change the document description, the related task, or the note.  Your changes will affect the new version, not the original document.  Click OK to save the new version. 

Tasklist will--

Give the document the same document number as the original.

Give the document a version number.  This will be one more than the current version.

Give the document a file name.  This is the document number, followed by the version number and the description - in this case, 1_2 - Letter to Mary.docx

Save the document to the Tasklist sub-folder in your default Documents folder.  The version is saved as a separate document, but Tasklist recognizes it as a version of the original.

To save a document as a new version of another document:

If you choose to save the document as a new version of another document, you will see a list of all your Tasklist documents. 

 

 

Select the document that you want to use as the original, and click OK.  This will give you a dialog with the properties of the document you selected as the original:

 

 

You can accept or change any of these properties for the new version.  Click OK, and Tasklist will save the document as a new version of the selected document.