Back up and restore your data

 

Tasklist tries to make a backup of your data when Outlook closes, but this is not assured.  You should make regular backups of your data. 

To backup or restore your data, press the Backup data button on the Tasklist tab in the Outlook ribbon:

 

 

This will open the Backup form:

 

To backup your data, press the Back up data button.  To restore your data from a backup, press the Restore backup button.  To delete a backup file, press the Delete backup button.

 

Tasklist deletes backup files after 10 days.  If you want to keep a backup, you should copy it to a different location on your computer.  You can find the backup folders in C:\Users\[your name]\AppData\Roaming\Tasklist\Backup.  They are named by date - for example, the backup folder 01-01-2021 18-00 was created at 1800 hours on January 1, 2021.  To restore an old backup manually:

Close Outlook

Delete the contents of the Tasklist data folder.  This is  C:\Users\[your name]\AppData\Roaming\Tasklist\Data.  Don't delete the Data folder itself - just the contents. These consist of a folder called emails, a folder called notes, and a file called tasklistdb.db. 

Copy the emails and notes folder and the tasklistdb.db file from the backup to the Data folder.

Restart Outlook.